Le sac du Berger | The five crafts of the workshop
The five crafts of the workshop : Saddlery - Leather goods - Bootmaker - Clothes making - Woolen skin
Sac, berger, artisanat, cuir, atelier, traditionnel, fabrication, entreprise, patrimoine, vivant, française, Layrolle, Aveyron, Hérault, Midi-Pyrénées, France, maroquinerie, sellerie, confection, vêtements, veste, manteau, laine, haut, de, gamme, Besace, cape, traditionnelle, fabricant, chaussures, objets, visite, tourisme, circuit, touristique
21548
page,page-id-21548,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-theme-ver-2.3,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.5.1,vc_responsive

The five crafts of the workshop

At the heart of the Sac du Berger’s workshop, five leather and wool crafts coexist and work together. However, following the principles of craftsmanship, each person realizes their artwork from beginning to end. The visits set up by the workshop (every day at 3:30 pm from June to October, other periods upon appointment) enable people to approach the methods and techniques used in leather working.

sellier

Saddlery

Originally, the Saddler made saddles and harnesses for the horses and in our region of the Cévennes, he was also asked by shepherds to manufacture bags. In our workshop, the Saddler mainly manufactures the Shepherd’s bag, in five sizes and three colors (fawn, black and red).

The shepherd’s bag is a bag that has not changed shape nor manufacturing technique for at least two centuries if not three. It is cut in full grain cowhide leather, dyed full aniline and waterproofed in bath.

Thirty pieces of leather need to be cut and assembled to manufacture this bag. A central part in rigid and thick leather ensures its structure. The outer part is made of a very soft leather and uses a finishing technique called “curling”: a leather band 3cm wide which is sewn on the outer parts of the bag that are most exposed to friction.

The bag is mounted inside out, the pieces being assembled with a very large seam. Once the bag is turned over again, the seam is inside and thus protected from wear. The balance between rigid and soft leathers, between structure and movement, is certainly the secret of the bag’s durability over decades if not centuries.

maroquinier

Leather goods

The leather worker creates a wide range of luggage  and small leather goods, for leisure or professional use.

Each item is made of full grain cowhide leather and fully lined with pork leather to guarantee its solidity and nobility.

The workshop is involved in the repurposing of skin scraps resulting from cutting parts off of the largest items. These pieces are used in the manufacture of small leather goods. Slitting these pieces of thick leather allows us to obtain a finer and more flexible leather. Then all pieces of the object are processed to prepare the edges before sewing.

Special sewing machines for leather are then necessary.

Proud of its know-how, the Sac du Berger works with other French partner businesses. For example we produce leather belts for our partner: Tuffery jeans workshop.

bottier1

Bootmaker

The Bootmaker manufactures both closed leather shoes for the winter and sandals for the summer. Cut in full grain cowhide leather, and entirely hand-assembled, the shoes and sandals of our workshop provide exceptional walking comfort in any situation..

The leathers used are tinted full aniline and waterproofed in bath, the outsoles are in “Vibram”, a rubber of very high quality. Using the Blake stitch when assembling pieces allows the seams inside the shoe to be made from one side to the other.

We provide after-sales service for all the products we make, so do not hesitate to contact us if you need a quotation for a repair.

confection

Clothes making

When driving his cattle, the shepherd traditionally carries a single bag as unique luggage, but he is also equipped with a cape made of pure felted wool, waterproof and windproof, which provides comfort and warmth when he spends the night outdoors, by his herd.

The Shepherd’s overcoat as well as the other capes and jackets in felted wool, leather or woollen skin are made in the workshop.

It is possible to make changes to an existing model of clothes. However, a feasibility study and an estimate of the extra cost will be done beforehand.

peau1

Woollen skin

Woollen skin is tanned sheep skin with its wool, also known as “double-skinned skin”.

Sheepskin leather with a “peach skin” touch is tanned with wool for incomparable softness and warmth.

Lined slippers, vests for adults or children, mittens, gloves … woollen skin keeps even those who feel the cold more warm throughout the seasons.

It brings warmth and comfort while letting your skin breathe.

Le sac du Berger | Les cinq métiers de l'atelier
Les cinq métiers de l'atelier : Sellier - Maroquinier - Bottier - Confection de Vêtements - Travail de la Peau Lainée
Sac, berger, artisanat, cuir, atelier, traditionnel, fabrication, entreprise, patrimoine, vivant, française, Layrolle, Aveyron, Hérault, Midi-Pyrénées, France, maroquinerie, sellerie, confection, vêtements, veste, manteau, laine, haut, de, gamme, Besace, cape, traditionnelle, fabricant, chaussures, objets, visite, tourisme, circuit, touristique
21548
page,page-id-21548,page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,select-theme-ver-2.3,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.5.1,vc_responsive

Les cinq métiers de l’atelier

Au cœur de l’atelier du Sac du Berger, cinq métiers du cuir et de la laine cohabitent et travaillent ensemble. Cependant, adoptant les principes de l’artisanat, chaque personne réalise son objet du début à la fin. La visite mise en place par l’atelier (tous les jours à 15h30 de juin à octobre, autres périodes sur rendez-vous) permet d’approcher les méthodes et techniques de fabrication des objets.

sellier

Sellier

A l’origine, le Sellier-Bourrelier confectionne des selles et harnachements pour les chevaux et dans notre région des Cévennes, il fabriquait aussi à la demande des bergers, un sac. Dans notre atelier, le Sellier fabrique principalement le Sac du Berger, en cinq tailles et trois couleurs (fauve, noir et rouge).

Le sac du berger est un sac qui n’a pas changé de forme ni de technique de fabrication depuis au moins deux siècles si ce n’est trois. Il est taillé dans du cuir vachette pleine fleur, teinté pleine aniline et imperméabilisé dans le bain.

Trente pièces de cuir coupées et montées sont nécessaire à sa fabrication. Une partie centrale en cuir rigide et épais assure sa structure. Autour, un cuir très souple et une technique de finition appelée « bordage » : une bande de cuir de 3cm de large est cousue sur les parties extérieures du sac les plus exposées aux frottements.

Le sac est monté à l’envers, les pièces étant assemblées par une très grosse couture. Une fois le sac retourné, la couture est à l’intérieur et donc protégée de l’usure. L’équilibre entre cuirs rigides et cuirs souples, entre structure et mouvement, est certainement le secret de pérennité de ce sac au fil des décennies pour ne pas dire des siècles.

maroquinier

Maroquinier

La Maroquinière réalise une large gamme d’ articles de bagagerie et de petite maroquinerie, pour un usage loisir ou professionnel.

Chaque objet est réalisé dans du cuir vachette pleine fleur et entièrement doublé cuir de porc afin de garantir sa solidité et sa noblesse.

L’atelier s’investit dans la valorisation des chutes de peau résultant de la coupe des parties des articles les plus grands. Ces morceaux servent à la fabrication des objets de petite maroquinerie. La refente de ces morceaux de cuir épais permet d’obtenir un cuir plus fin et plus souple. Puis toutes les pièces de l’objet sont passées à la pareuse afin de préparer les bords avant la couture.

Des machines à coudre spéciales pour le cuir sont alors nécessaires.

Fier de son savoir-faire, Le sac du Berger travaille avec d’autres acteurs français. Nous produisons, par exemple, des ceintures en cuir pour notre partenaire : Atelier Tuffery.

bottier1

Bottier

Le Bottier fabrique autant des chaussures artisanales en cuir fermées pour l’hiver que des sandales pour l’été. Découpées dans du cuir de vachette pleine fleur, et entièrement montées à la main, les chaussures et sandales de notre atelier assurent un confort de marche en toute situation.

Les cuirs utilisés sont teintés pleine aniline et imperméabilisés dans le bain et les semelles sont en « Vibram », caoutchouc de très haute qualité. Le montage « cousu Blake », permet de réaliser les coutures à l’intérieure de la chaussure, de part en part.

Nous assurons le service après-vente de toutes nos fabrications, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour une évaluation des réparations.

confection

Confection de Vêtements

Dans la tradition de la transhumance, le berger emporte pour unique bagage un sac, mais il est aussi équipé d’une cape en pure laine foulonnée, imperméable et coupe-vent, qui lui assure confort et chaleur lorsqu’il passe la nuit à la belle étoile, à proximité de son troupeau.

La cape du Berger ainsi que les autres capes et vestes en laine foulonnée, cuir ou peau lainée sont fabriqués à l’atelier.

A partir d’un modèle existant, il est possible d’apporter des modifications aux vêtements, cependant, une étude de la faisabilité et un chiffrage du travail seront réalisés au préalable.

peau1

Travail de la Peau Lainée

La peau lainée est la peau de mouton tannée avec la laine, on l’appelle aussi « peau double face ».

Le cuir de mouton, au toucher « peau de pêche » est tanné avec la laine pour une douceur et une chaleur inégalée.

Chaussons fourrés, gilet pour adulte ou enfant, moufles, gants… la peau lainée réchauffe les plus frileux tout au long des saisons.

Elle apporte chaleur et confort tout en laissant respirer votre peau.